Day 16 – Every Breath You Take

Stop!!! Just stop whatever it is you are doing.  Right now!!! Take a Deep Breath!!! And another one!!!

proof

Now close your eyes for a moment and feel the aliveness in your body. The river of sensations;  Feel your breath; The touch of the clothes on your skin; The sounds that are currently present in the room you are in; The smells; The image that may be present. Just allow everything to be as it is and know how things are at this very moment.

Notice for a brief moment the immortal life force. It lives inside us. It never dies. It was never born. It doesn’t care how well we end up doing today. It is the birthplace of gratitude and love.

I always find it amazing how a simple breath can help us remember that everything is already OK. Exactly the way it is. Every single moment.

We are so lucky just to be alive. We really do have a precious human life.

Let’s rejoice in our good fortune. Lets appreciate today the simplest things we take for granted – a breath, a step, waking up in the morning and our capacity to be aware of life.  There is a Buddhist saying that those who are mindful are in the presence of enlightenment. Even if it just for a brief moment. How wonderful is that!!!

And just to make sure we remember once again….

A Precious Human Life

Every day, think as you wake up,

today I am fortunate to have woken up,

I am alive,

I have a precious human life,

I am not going to waste it,

I am going to use all my energies to develop myself,

to expand my heart out to others,

to achieve enlightenment for the benefit of all beings,

I am going to have kind thoughts towards others,

I am not going to get angry or think badly about others,

I am going to benefit others as much as I can.

H.H. His Holiness The 14th Dalai Lama 

About advaharma

Been fascinated by the mystery of life ever since I can remember. Have been practicing meditation for more than 20 years. Dedicated two years to an ongoing silent meditation retreat whilst living in Buddhist monasteries in Nepal and Burma. A Yogi and a Front Line Humanitarian.
This entry was posted in Gratitude. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 16 – Every Breath You Take

  1. joeholtaway says:

    the wisdom of the breath
    life is… ah.
    thanks as always adva,joe in london

  2. Thanks as always Joe and Tony. I really appreciate your kindness and sweet encouragement. With much metta and a grateful heart…. Adva – back in London….

  3. Claire says:

    You are doing great things.Thankyou.

Leave a Reply

