Day 6 – Gratitude to Our Parents

Let’s dedicate time today to contemplate the goodness of our parents, Let’s deliberately choose to remember their goodness instead of dwelling on what they did wrong; Let’s, just for today, commemorate the kindness that our parents had for us – even though in some cases, generosity might not have been there at all times.

When I was younger I used to blame my parents for everything that went wrong in my life. My mind was occupied only with their faults and the things they didn’t do. I was convinced that THEY made ME suffer. I didn’t know back then that suffering was merely a natural thing for human beings.I didn’t know that everyone alive suffers. I didn’t know that my parents suffered too.

Of course my parents were not perfect. I mean, they were young and inexperience when they had me. I was their first born and they were going through some tough financial times. Besides, they were not fully enlightened, so naturally there were things they could have done differently. But looking back, the dedication, commitment, love, and care were all there. They did whatever they could to make the lives of my brother, my sister and myself as good and as happy as could be.

Mother's Day

But when I was a child and a teenager, and even through most of my 20s, I couldn’t comprehend the way my parents devoted their lives to look after us. I didn’t appreciate it at all. I didn’t think about it, I took my parents for granted. And I couldn’t realize what they had to sacrifice, what they had to give up in order to take care of us.

I guess it’s only when we get older (and wiser) or when we ourselves sacrifice for the sake of our own children or somebody else that we begin to appreciate and feel gratitude for our parents. It also comes with the realization that whatever happened, happened for a reason. I know from my own experience, that the gretest challenges in life, the circumstances that yielded years’ long anger and resentment towards my parents for not giving me the support I felt they should have, turned out to be the most significant milestones of my life. I know now that if my parents have acted differently I wouldn’t be having the amazing life I have. I would probably not be writing this post today. So I’m really grateful for my parents for everything they everything they didn’t do.

For my mother

I’d like to dedicate this post and my practice today to my brave mother who joined our gratitude challenge literally a few hours before entering a knee replacing operation. She is recovering fine and very dedicated to filling up her daily gratitude journal. She looks for things to be grateful for despite the excruciating pain she is currently in. I’m so proud of her. I love you mom.

For your parents 

If your parents are alive, take the opportunity today to express your love and gratitude. This opportunity is not forever. If they have passed on, you can still express your love and gratitude and they will receive it “spiritually”. If you feel that your parents were not good to you, try and give them a gift of forgiveness.

May we always remember the blessings bestowed on us by our parents. May we be happy.

metta

Adva

About advaharma

Been fascinated by the mystery of life ever since I can remember. Have been practicing meditation for more than 20 years. Dedicated two years to an ongoing silent meditation retreat whilst living in Buddhist monasteries in Nepal and Burma. A Yogi and a Front Line Humanitarian.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 6 – Gratitude to Our Parents

  1. Richard Smith says:

    If you had to give back all the time, love and money that our parents spent on us as children how many of us could repay that debt? It was when I asked myself questions like that, that I really started to appreciate my parents and love them more.

  2. Thank you …From the heart.. Thats what this post inspired in me

    🙂

  3. joeholtaway says:

    lovely words -thank you and as always thanks for the music!
    joe

  4. ilse watson says:

    Here’s a forgiveness creed – something that might help to make peace with our parents (or anybody else).
    http://ilsewatson.com/2011/09/22/forgiveness-creed/

  5. Pingback: Day 21 – Gratitude To Difficult People (And Situations) | The 30-10 Gratitude Challenge

Leave a Reply

