Spreading Out Happiness

While on retreat in Lumbini I had no access to internet and an average of daily 16 hours power cut which made it almost impossible to use internet even if there were any around so I asked my friends to send me post cards and mails….. and that’s what I wrote.

…..Now, I know that sending a post mail requires much more effort than an e-mail as it may involve the hassle of a visit to the post office, so consider this:

  • The process of sending a post mail or card includes writing, stamping and shipping it.
  • When you will engaged in each of this activities just remember how happy I will be to receive a word from you.
  • Now, knowing your actions will make me so happy will in turn make you happy because you are doing a good did for someone else.
  • Being happy yourselves, smiling and relaxed will make other people around you happy as well.
  • They in turn make other people around them happier and so on and so forth.

Now, that is not all.

  • A few weeks later I will be receiving your mail or post card and I will again be very happy and create a happy environment around me which will make others in my surrounding happy and they in turn make other happier.

 And even that is not all

  • when I receive your mail or post card I will be thinking of you, sending you good wishes and blessings, I will be full of gratitude for having you in my life
  • That in turn make you happy again and that will again increase the happiness of people surrounding you etc. etc.

You see, by the effort of sending me a mail or a post card we will all become involved in the noble goal of increasing happiness, joy and bliss in the world. So how can you say no to my request?

About advaharma

Been fascinated by the mystery of life ever since I can remember. Have been practicing meditation for more than 20 years. Dedicated two years to an ongoing silent meditation retreat whilst living in Buddhist monasteries in Nepal and Burma. A Yogi and a Front Line Humanitarian.
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Retreat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

