Singapore The City With No Heart – First Week of Traveling

I began my current journey in Singapore, the first Chinese dominated place I ever visited. It is a beautiful Island on the pacific ocean – its new, its clean and it has amazing Jungle like vegetation. I will not go into details about he nature or cleanliness of Singapore – anyone can tell you that and you can find it on any travel guide. What I would like to do is to share some of my thoughts and feelings over there.

The weather – imagine Tel Aviv on any August day at noon time. Now imagine you are ,for some odd reason, walking outside. this is how Singapore feels like 24/7 – morning, noon, evenings and nights. ALL YEAR ROUND!!!! 30 degrees Celsius and 92% humidity !!!!! My mind couldn’t actually believe there could be anything like that so whenever I moved from the house or from a forest or a mall to the street I would be surprised over and over again. I just couldn’t believe there could actually be a weather like that. My heart is with the poor Singaporeans having to suffer this disgusting weather 365 days a year.

The Big Brother. From first sight Singapore looks like a big Eastern European capital – HUGE national buildings, bridges, monuments and infrastructure so no one could be mistaken of a strong leadership. You are not allowed to chew gums, you are not allowed to litter and if you break these rules and the many other regulations you are facing a serious fine. Whats more – the big brother knows exactly where you are and what you are doing. Just to give you one example – in order to ride a train or a bus you need an electronic card and you punch it when you get on and off a public vehicle. But guess what – the card knows exactly where you get off even if you didn’t punch it – you are being read as if you installed an electronic plug on your neck. In the case of Singapore the big brother is probably just tracking down your shopping behavior as it can tell between what shopping centers you’ve been traveling.

The Greed. Singapore is one of the most important financial centers of the world and activating extreme capitalism both in the national services this country/ city is offering the world and the personal behavior of the people who live there who follow an extreme shopping and commercialized life style. Much more severe than any American or European city I ever visited. They shop and shop and shop and shop. The city/ government/ capitalism system make it possible to shop 24/7 so if you absolutely need some brand new shoes or a head torch (as in my case) after midnight there is always an open mall so you can relax and you don’t need to postpone your needs not even for a few night hours. I don’t know what about you but I sleep very comfortably knowing that I can always go to a mall in case I would need one.

The Beautiful Women. The Chinese and Philippines women of Singapore are SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO beautiful

The Clinic. The most interesting sight of Singapore was no doubt a pub called clinic. This is a creatively disgusting place located in the confined pubs and clubs area (again big brother).

  • Instead if chairs this pub provides his customers with wheel chairs.
  • The waitresses wear nursing customs
  • The tables are being separated from each other with hospital curtains
  • and the customers drink their alcohol from tubes normally used to transfer blood or medicine through the veins

So Singapore is beautiful and life on this island are extremely convenient but it is also a place with a very greedy attitude and you can absolutely feel how people on this island cannot postpone their needs. Everyone must have what they want NOW. I titled Singapore the city with no heart.

Personally I was very miserable in Singapore. Despite walking for a few days in natural jungles and cycling on deserted islands – activities that i did enjoy to do – I walked around with an unhappy attitude spreading sad energies. Besides the regular culture shock of a tour and besides being a “by the book” first miserable traveling  week. I think it was the first time that I fully realized what I have done. Only when I got to Singapore I figured out that I actually left everything and everyone that matters to me and went for an unknown adventure and an unknown future with no plans beyond the next three to six months and for the first time it “scared the shit out of me”.

What’s more – because I was visiting my good friend Kamal I didn’t really get to know any other backpackers on the island so I was most of the time alone. Combined with the fear and lonelines I was feeling I didn’t have such a good time in Singapore altogether. My host was beautiful, generous, warm and kind but besides working as an Associate Vice President of Swiss Credit Bank in Singapore he is also pursuing his MBA and coordinating a social network of 50-80 friends in Singapore alone and so, he didn’t have allot of time to spend with me. The combination of feeling miserable and being alone didnt work so nicely so I decided to shorten my visit in Singapore and left earlier than planned figuring that I could still feel lonely in Thailand but at least I would not be so much alone as I could meet some travelers on my way.

About advaharma

Been fascinated by the mystery of life ever since I can remember. Have been practicing meditation for more than 20 years. Dedicated two years to an ongoing silent meditation retreat whilst living in Buddhist monasteries in Nepal and Burma. A Yogi and a Front Line Humanitarian.
This entry was posted in Traveling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

