The Israeli Invasion of Dharamsalla

I have landed in Mc Lode Guje today – home of the Dalai Lama. The way to Daharamsala took around 18 hours and included a train ride, two buses and a taxi. I’m too exhausted today to describe the train ride but just say that it was a smelly, dirty and odd experience. I could also describe it as the biggest slumber party I’ve ever attended. Lucky for me, I have met two very young, very sweet Israelis on the train and we made this journey together. We had some good laughs, otherwise, it would have been a nightmare.

Upon arrival at McLode Gunje I finally had a culture shock. These two Israelis convinced me to join them to Dahamkot, a little village 4 km. northern of Dharamsallah. they said there are less Israelis there. I believed them. Innocent me. Once I got there I found myself in an Israeli Kibbutz. Everyone on the street was Israeli. There were no Indians or any other foreigners out there. the signs of restaurants and shops were in Hebrew, the waiters spoke Hebrew, and five minutes to my arrival someone recognized me on the street.

We had breakfast at a place called “Ha Israelit” (the Israeli). I was warned this would be the case but couldn’t believe it till I got there. It is unbelievable. The first thing I wanted to do was to get out of there and move to a different location but I was so tires that the thought of moving my bag around one more time convinced me to stay one night. I neglected to say so far that I have the MOST AMAZING MOUNTAIN VIEW ONE CAN IMAGINE reflecting from my window. It is really something else.

About advaharma

Been fascinated by the mystery of life ever since I can remember. Have been practicing meditation for more than 20 years. Dedicated two years to an ongoing silent meditation retreat whilst living in Buddhist monasteries in Nepal and Burma. A Yogi and a Front Line Humanitarian.
This entry was posted in Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

