My First Cow Shit Experience

Yesterday Priya and Neeraj took me to the main Puja in Rishikesh – a Hindu praying ceremony on the bank of Ganges River. By the end of the Puja people approach the river to pour some of the holy water on themselves. Wanting to be one of the crowd I joined along. I watered my face and took off my glasses. A second later, my precious, unique, beloved, designer glasses went with the stream. I was left without glasses!!! Those of you using specks understand that I cannot really see much without them.

It was 19:30 and I didn’t carry an extra pair with me to India. Priya generously lent me her own pair of specks but it was unsuitable and I felt as if I shrank with each step  I took. So , anyways, as I was making my way back to my guest house being half blind I tripped and stepped in cow shit. That was my first time…. I suppose it won’t be the last….

I thought the whole story was funny and told everyone I donated my glasses to the Ganges river so that she could see better and that to reciprocate mother Ganges assisted me into immersing myself in holy shit.

I’ve managed to make another pair of specks today and paid the “outraging” price of 55 whole shekels (10 pounds for frame and lenses with cylinders).

That’s it for now

Wishing you a lovely holiday and shana tova from Rishikes

Love

Adva

About advaharma

Been fascinated by the mystery of life ever since I can remember. Have been practicing meditation for more than 20 years. Dedicated two years to an ongoing silent meditation retreat whilst living in Buddhist monasteries in Nepal and Burma. A Yogi and a Front Line Humanitarian.
This entry was posted in Traveling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

